McLaughlin Park

For a sound journal assignment, I visited a local park on different days and times over a couple of weeks. The park is a block away from my house.

My favorite sonic moment in the park was on a quiet Wednesday evening at about 9pm: An adult woman came in and started using one of the playground swings. I was enjoying the gentle squeaking of the swing — she had her back to me and I don’t think she was aware of my presence. Then she surprised me by these sounds:

What a great sonic use of a city park: When our apartment walls and the close proximity of neighbors threaten us with suffocation, we may not be able howl at the moon in a far-off empty field, but there there is McLaughlin Park.

Leave a Reply

